Learners bursaries

PwC has a bursary scheme that aims to attract exceptional young people who are unusually talented to the firm.

Bursaries are financial assistance given to students for further studies.

Bursaries are awarded to students with an outstanding academic track record at school and/or university.

Please bear in mind that bursaries do not generally cover the full costs of the tuition, accommodation and books and as a result applicants must be prepared to pay a portion of their tuition costs themselves.

Bursaries are also awarded on the condition that when you complete your studies successfully, you will be required to work for PwC on a training contract, gaining hands-on experience in the business.


Who can apply for a bursary?

Bursaries are awarded to students who are studying or intending to study towards SAICA accredited degree leading to a Chartered Accountant (SA) designation at any SAICA accredited South African university.

Bursary selection requirements


Academic requirements for matriculants:

  • Commitment to studying towards a Chartered Accountancy qualification
  • You must be intending to study full-time at a SAICA accredited institution
  • You must have a minimum of a Level 6 in Mathematics and English (1st or 2nd language), and an overall average of 70%


Academic requirements for university students:

  • You must be studying towards a CA qualification
  • You must be studying full time at a SAICA accredited institution
  • If you are a first-year student you must be passing all University courses with an average of at least 65%
  • If you are a second-year student you must be passing all University courses with an average of at least 60%
  • Third and fourth year students must be passing all courses consistently and must qualify for honours according to the relevant university 

Closing dates

Please note that closing dates for bursary applications for the 2019 year of study are as follows:


Central Region: Mafikeng, Bloemfontein, Kimberley, Welkom Offices 31 August 2018
Eastern Cape: Port Elizabeth, East London Offices 31 October 2018
Gauteng: Johannesburg, Pretoria Offices 31 December 2018
KwaZulu Natal: Durban, Pietermaritzburg Offices 31 July 2018
North East Region: Nelspruit, Middleburg, Emalahleni Offices 30 September 2018
Western Cape: Cape Town, Paarl, Stellenbosch, Robertson, Worcester Offices 12 August 2018
Follow us